About Jeju

Jeju island is located southwest of the Korean peninsula.
  • It has been designated as Jeju Special Self-Governing Province.
  • It is the Republic of largest island in Korea.
  • It is a resort island with magnificent views of nature.
Jeju is an oval-shaped volcanic island that is 73 km from east to west and 31 km from north to south, with Hallasan Mountain the center. The island has a coastal ring road of 181 km and 258 km of coastline. It has a temperate climate with temperatures that rarely drop below zero degrees.
  • Total area: 1,848.5 km2
  • Average temperature: Jeju city 15.5 oC, Seogwipo city 16.2 oC
  • Average rainfall: Jeju city 1,456.9 mm, Seogwipo city 1,850.8 mm
  • Highest point: Hallasan Mountain 1,950 m
Jeju island is called 'Samda-do (三多島)' because of its abundance of rocks, wind, and women.
Visit Official Jeju Tour Website for more information
UNESCO Triple Crown Jeju - For more information
  • UNESCO Bio Sphere Reserve (December 16, 2002)
  • UNESCO Natural Heritage Site (June 27, 2007)
  • UNESCO Global Geopark (October 4, 2010)